First Powerball Millionaire of the Year 2020 Kicks Off

Saturday May 18th 2019

Would you like the chance to become the first Powerball millionaire of 2020 this New Year’s? The first states have unveiled details of how one lucky winner will scoop a $1 million dollar prize.

The first Powerball millionaire of the year will be selected at random just after the ball drops at midnight in Times Square in New York. The winner will be drawn live on TV from a group of over 300 players partying in Times Square.

To get invited to this exclusive event, you need to win a special second-chance drawing that will be held in 23 states and the District of Columbia over the next few months.

Over 300 second-chance winners will enjoy a luxurious three-day visit to the Big Apple, with a theatre performance and a cruise on the Hudson River including dinner and entertainment. Airline tickets and hotel stays are included.

And of course, all second-chance winners will attend the New Year’s Rockin’ Eve party for a chance to win the million-dollar Powerball prize! The exclusive New Year’s Eve event will be held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel with live entertainment and a spectacular view of the Times Square ball drop.

The First Powerball Millionaire of the Year promotion is a collaboration between Powerball and Dick Clark Productions. The drawing for the winner will take place at the Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest party live in New York.

“We are excited to offer our players the chance to attend this iconic event while also having a chance to win a million dollars,” said David Barden, Powerball Product Group Chairman and CEO of the New Mexico Lottery. “We are continuing Powerball’s 27-year legacy of creating millionaires while raising funds for good causes supported by Lotteries.”

“New Year’s Eve has always brought about the opportunity for a fresh start,” said Kevin Patrick Smith, Senior Vice President of Business Development and Partnerships, dick clark productions. “By partnering with Powerball and announcing the first millionaire of the year in the first minutes of 2020 live on air, we are able to change someone’s life while introducing an exciting new moment in the show.”

New Mexico and Wisconsin roll out Rockin’ Eve

The first states have recently revealed details of how you can get your chance to win a VIP trip to New York - and maybe $1 million - with this historic opportunity!

South Dakota’s promotion runs from April 15 to September 15, 2019. Two winners for the New York trip will be drawn on September 20.

New Mexico will send 10 second-chance winners to New York. To participate, simply spend $6 or more on one Powerball ticket. You’ll get an entry coupon with a serial number. Enter your number on the New Mexico Lottery’s official website by September 30 for your chance to win.

The winners of the trip to New York will be chosen during four separate drawings.

Wisconsin rolled out its promotion on May 1 and it will stay open until May 25. Any Powerball ticket you buy during this time that does not win a prize is eligible for the chance to party in New York this New Year’s.

There’s no minimum spend to qualify in the state and it doesn’t matter whether you add Power Play or not.

After you buy your ticket, write your name, address and phone number on the back and sign it. Mail the ticket to: Powerball Drawing, PO Box 8919, Madison, WI 53708.

Don’t wait too long, because the Wisconsin Lottery must receive your ticket by June 4. However, there’s no limit on the number of tickets you can enter – so the more you play, the more chances you have to win.

Three lucky Wisconsin players will be chosen at random to party in New York and potentially win $1 million.

More states to launch Rockin’ Eve soon

Keep your eyes peeled for updates as more states roll out their Rockin’ Eve Powerball promotions in the coming months.

For now, we do know that you will need to buy an eligible ticket in a state that is running the promotion, and make your purchase within the dates announced by the individual lottery.

The participating jurisdictions include: Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Virginia.

But even if you don’t get to go to New York, buying a ticket means you’ve still got a chance of winning the multimillion-dollar Powerball jackpot before New Year’s!

Written by

Latest News