Powerball First Millionaire of the Year 2021 Promotion Launches

Sunday August 30th 2020

Would you like to ring in the New Year as a millionaire? One lucky winner will become the Powerball First Millionaire of the Year 2021 just after the ball drops at midnight in Times Square.

Next Estimated Jackpot:
$211 Million
Time left to buy tickets
Buy Tickets

Players in Indiana, North Carolina, North Dakota, and South Dakota can enter the promotion now, with more lotteries to follow.

Powerball and Dick Clark Productions have once again teamed up to offer the life-changing event - the winner will be chosen by a random draw live on TV during the Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve broadcast in New York City.

“Even though many aspects of our lives have changed, the ball will still drop and a new year will begin. This year's experience might be different, but the shot at winning a million dollars remains,” said Hoosier Lottery Executive Director Sarah M. Taylor.

2020's First Millionaire of the Year was Blaine Marston of Maine, who credited a lucky rock he picked up in a New York fountain for the amazing win.

To enter the 2021 promotion, players in participating states need to submit their non-winning Powerball tickets by the deadline. Each lottery will hold a state semi-finalists' drawing, followed by a nationwide drawing to select the five finalists, one of whom will be be randomly chosen as the Powerball First Millionaire of the Year!

First states begin promotion

The first state lotteries have revealed details of how you can go in the draw to become an instant millionaire.

If you live in one of the four states that have opened the promotion, you can enter a local second-chance drawing now, which could put you in the running for the $1 million draw on New Year's.

Here's how it works:

  • Submit your non-winning Powerball tickets by your state lottery's deadline (see below)
  • Each state will hold a drawing to select semi-finalists, who will each win a prize
  • The winners will be entered into a national drawing made up of entrants from all participating lotteries
  • Five finalists will be entered in the Powerball First Millionaire of the Year draw on New Year's, and one of them will win $1 million!

The five finalists can also choose from two luxury New Year's offers to count down to midnight in style:

New York City Trip for Two

Finalists will receive an all-expenses-paid VIP trip for two to NYC to participate in the Dick Clark’s New Year's Rockin’ Eve live broadcast, and be entered into the First Millionaire of the Year drawing.

The trip includes airfares, three nights in the Big Apple, transportation, exclusive events, and $1,000 spending money.

Party at Home

Finalists who prefer not to travel to New York will receive a luxury New Year's Eve party package to enjoy at home. The package includes $12,500 cash, surf and turf dinner for eight from Omaha Steaks, 70-inch LED TV with home theater sound system, karaoke system, $500 Party City gift certificate, and more.

Finalists at home will take part remotely in the First Millionaire of the Year drawing during the New Year's Rockin' Eve live broadcast.

How to enter


Entry deadline: September 14, 2020

30 Hoosier Lottery players will win $500 and have the chance to become one of the five finalists and win the top $1 million prize.

Enter here to submit your non-winning Powerball tickets with a myLOTTERY account.

Make sure to hang on to your tickets - you'll need them to claim a win.

North Carolina

Entry deadline: August 31, 2020

49 players will receive a $100 Online Play credit from the NC Education Lottery and be in the running to become one of the five finalists and become a millionaire on New Year's.

Enter here to submit your non-winning Powerball tickets with a Lucke-Rewards account.

North Dakota

Entry deadline: October 12, 2020

Five winners of the ND Lottery Players Club® Points for Drawings™ offer will receive $1,000 each and could be selected as one of the five finalists and take home the $1 million top prize.

Enter here to submit your non-winning Powerball tickets with a North Dakota Lottery Players Club account.

South Dakota

Entry deadline: October 14, 2020

Five SD Lottery players will receive an exclusive prize pack, and go in the running to be one of the five finalists, of whom one lucky winner will hit the top $1 million prize.

Enter here to submit your non-winning Powerball tickets via a South Dakota Lottery Players Club account, or use the Lottery's mobile app.

Participating lotteries

Currently, four states have opened the Powerball First Millionaire of the Year promotion, and the lotteries below will all participate over the coming months, so be sure to keep an eye out for your chance to enter:

  • Arizona Lottery
  • Connecticut Lottery
  • DC Lottery
  • Florida Lottery
  • Hoosier Lottery (promotion open)
  • Kansas Lottery
  • Kentucky Lottery
  • Louisiana Lottery
  • Maine Lottery
  • Minnesota Lottery
  • Missouri Lottery
  • Montana Lottery
  • Nebraska Lottery
  • New Mexico Lottery
  • New York Lottery
  • North Carolina Education Lottery (promotion open)
  • North Dakota Lottery (promotion open)
  • Oregon Lottery
  • Pennsylvania Lottery
  • Puerto Rico Lottery
  • Rhode Island Lottery
  • South Carolina Lottery
  • South Dakota Lottery (promotion open)
  • Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation
  • Texas Lottery
  • Vermont Lottery

Written by

Latest News